Tags

, , , , , , ,

It’s been done before but I would like to have my say in this. As a 1st Year Law Student at University, it takes a long time to find your feet. It may be that you don’t ‘settle in’ until the end of 2nd year. This was my case.

Having worked for a year before University, it was difficult to get back to Academic Life. Even though I tried to keep my mind working during the year by reading a countless number of books in law, it did not prepare me for 13th September 2010.

The list I have devised will hopefully see you through. It is a list that I wished I could have read before commencing my first year LLB. Without further ado…

  1. Make Friends With the Year Above

I never did this – or even thought of doing this! By making friends with your successors, they will be able to give you hints and tips about what is to come. They have already been through what you are going through. They know the short-cuts. They know what classes to take and what not to take.  It is beneficial to keep them in your circle of friends for free advice. I did it the other way around. I made friends with the year below me. I grudged giving them advice because I never got the opportunity to be given some.

2. Know How To Use Westlaw, Lexis Nexis etc 

This is extremely important. I spent hours in the law level of the library looking through the Scots Law Times and Case Records of books dating back to the 1900s. I then proceeded to use up all my print credit by scanning them and bringing mile long transcripts into my seminars. There is absolutely no need for this. Everything is done electronically.  Westlaw provides the whole case online. All that is required is some key words typed into the search engine. Et voilà! You have the whole case report in front of you. The cases analysis will give you a brief summary on what the case is about.
Free Tip: If you are looking for a certain part of the case: Ctrl + S – Type in the key words and there you have it.

3. Go To Lectures

It is safe to say I have heard it all. There is no point in going, Lectures will be posted on Blackboard, I have the book and my personal favourite: Bamboo were offering £1 shots last night. There is nothing worse than going to a lecture after missing one and not knowing what the heck is going on. You don’t lose anything by going. In relation to the ‘slides are on-line’ excuse.  Here is some clarification on that. Yes, slides are on line but most of the information provided on slides are limited. Lecturers usually use Powerpoint slides as guidance for them. It is usually just titles. By going, your lecturer usually gives their own examples on pieces of information that may be complex. Just a heads up, I knew this one guy who never went to lectures. He never graduated with us and I do not know where he is now…

4. Seminars/Tutorials

This next point is for all of those who wish to go on to do the Diploma. Upon commencing the diploma, it has come to my attention that there are certain universities that assess by participation on seminars.I.e Occasionally shouting out answers. If you are from one of these universities, move on to the next point. If, like me, you are from a university which does not implement this type of assessment method, listen up. A Diploma Tutor does not like a mute student. If you are collectively asked a question, be heard! I used to hate 1st year Contract Law last thing on a Thursday afternoon because my tutor would go round the class and personally ask you a question. Now I love her for it. You need to learn to be able to have an opinion and be able to express that opinion. That’s what lawyers do, right? Like my Diploma Tutor said, there is no right or wrong answers and no silly questions. Taking part in mooting may help you prepare for this.

5. Only Buy Books You Need

We are law students for 4 years. Unfortunately, laws change more than Scottish weather. We cannot avoid books. There are ways around paying for them. After the first lecture, you have obtained the reading list, bolt to the library as fast as your legs can carry you. The library usually have the responsibility of stocking the books on your reading list. If it isn’t there, make friends with the law librarian who might order in the book. Another way of circumventing an unnecessary dent in your bank account is by using Google Scholar/Google Books. I found these very useful during my dissertation. It may not show you every chapter at once. You may need to wait a while until they hide the parts you have already read and show the parts that you need.  As a result, more money for fun!

6. “Extra Curricular Activities”

I am not a fan of extra curricular activities. We already have enough to do. We should not be doing anything “Extra.” I have exceptions to some things. For example, during my first year I got the opportunity to attend Tommy Sheridan’s trial with one of my lecturers. If I did not go, I would never have had the confidence to go into the court myself, walk up the front and say the words, “I am a student of the law and I would like to know if there are any interesting cases on today.” -Well not as rehearsed or dramatic. But anyway, Go to court! It is interesting, it is beneficial and you start to learn the procedure which will be of assistance when you start Criminal Law.

7. Networking

I was not told this either. Networking is extremely important. As a Diploma Student, we network most weeks. I used to think I was good at it until we were forced to listen to a lecture on ‘How to Network’ (if that’s such a thing). I  have now become too aware of how I speak to people. I have become more socially awkward than I was before.  When networking with lawyers and potential employers be passionate and ask them questions. The legal profession in Scotland is who you know. Everyone you meet is someone you will come across at least once in your career.

8. You Do Not Have to Become a Lawyer

All the way through my undergraduate degree we were trained and taught only to become a lawyer. With a Law Degree the world is your oyster! Only 5 of us in my year went on to do the diploma. My best friend is now living the high life in London. She  works in Legal Compliance for a huge Asset Management company which will probably take her all over the world. There are so many choices! You can do pretty much anything with a Law Degree. Apart from Brain Surgery. Do not apply for any positions that require a 7 Year Medicine Degree – unless you are a doctor who wishes to study law.

9. Work Experience

So it is the Christmas break, you have finished your exams and gone home. During this period of boredom, you should e-mail solicitors and ask for work experience for the summer. Solicitors usually don’t mind being shadowed. Those who I have come into contact with have been fantastic! If you can’t get work experience, volunteer at the CAB or anywhere you can give pro bono advice (Law Clinics). You will get experience in dealing with clients and you can put what you have learned into practice. As a side note, by volunteering at the CAB, you may get 6 months of your sentence. *coughs* I mean Traineeship.

10. Friends

I know they say that doing a law degree is completely anti-social. This is a common misconception.  Actually, doing a law degree is very social. I have met the best group of gals while doing my undergraduate degree. We have helped each other and we have worked well together when we have had to work in teams. Having friends makes the law degree a little less stressful.